top of page

Graduate Student: Dominic Mercurio


My research experience here at UNF has been fairly well rounded. I have been an active participant in all steps of the research process including research design, data collection, data analysis, presentation of findings and publication. During my time here I have helped design 2 studies (including my thesis) which are currently in the data collection phase. I have taken on the role of lab manager, supervising the training, data collection and data entry done by undergraduate research assistants. In this role I have been an active research assistant, helping with data collection, entry and analysis of multiple projects. These projects include looking at women’s perceptions of the inherent value of STEM fields, people’s perceptions of research journals based on the journal’s name and description, eating behaviors in women based their social media interactions, and others. I have also attended and plan to attend several professional conferences for the purpose of networking and presenting research, including SOARS, APS, and SPSP. I am also in the process of writing up the methods and results section of a manuscript for publication.

These diverse experiences have given me an excellent chance to identify my strengths and weaknesses, as well as develop a clear and thorough understanding of the research process from start to finish. I will note, however, that these opportunities are not necessarily inherent in the program and must be sought out. But if you are willing and do seek them out, they stand to be largely beneficial in developing yourself professionally and bring clarity to what you actually would like to do with your degree.


Recent Posts
bottom of page