top of page

Alumnus: Jenny Barton


As an undergraduate research assistant, my advisor suggested that our lab present posters at a small regional conference. My initial reaction of this proposal terrified me but little did I know how it would change the course of my career. From that first conference, I have been fortunate to present at least fifteen times, at both regional and national conferences, as well as advise undergraduates creating their own posters. Conferences are an excellent way to practice communicating your research, be exposed to novel unpublished research, opportunities to network with students and faculty from other universities, as well as explore your interests in psychological research. Of all the benefits listed, do not underestimate the value of networking. As both an undergraduate and graduate student, I have met faculty from other universities that I continue to communicate and collaborate with today. In fact, a conference is where I met my advisor who I’m currently working with at the University of Texas at Austin. These conference experiences have helped improve my communication skills, narrow my research interests, and solidified my identity as a researcher. I can personally attest the benefits of attending conferences as I would not be in the position I am today without those experiences.


Recent Posts
bottom of page