top of page

Undergraduate Student: Carolyn Smith


I have been working as a research assistant under Dr. Elizabeth Brown and Dr. Curtis Phills for a little over a year now on how victim blaming language use in campus alerts can affect stereotypes, rape myth acceptance, perceptions of a sexual assault victim, and intentions to report future crimes on campus. Through these experiences I have learned data coding, how to run studies as an experimenter, qualitative analysis and coding using NVivo, presentation skills, programming experiments in Qualtrics, and grant writing. I have also had the opportunity to present my research at SOARS, and will be presenting this research at SPSP this January and FURC this coming February. All of these experiences will benefit me in the long run through graduate school, giving me the ability to conduct and run my own experiments one day, and able to conduct various forms of research. In addition, I will take these skills and utilize them through my own research in grad school and have the ability to continue as a researcher in my career.


Recent Posts
bottom of page